Wednesday, July 23, 2008

Commissioners Keep District Residence Requirements

At its meeting on July 22, the Board voted to deny the proposal eliminating all District residency requirements for Commissioners. The recommendation (please click on District Requirement) to have all members of the Board elected as “At-Large” Commissioners was rejected (the current Town Ordinance will remain unchanged). The next Town election in November 2009 will be for Mayor, a council member residing in District 2, one in District 4, and one “At-Large” member (residing anywhere in Morrisville).

The Board did vote to change its designation from a “Board of Commissioners” to a “Town Council.” Effective September 1, the Commissioners will be known as Council Members.

No comments: